The Seven UU Principles

The Unitarian Universalist congregations do not have a creed or dogma. Instead, they have a statement of shared values. This is expressed in the seven principles.

The seven principles are:

    1. The inherent worth and dignity of every person;
    2. Justice, equity and compassion in human relations;
    3. Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations;
    4. A free and responsible search for truth and meaning;
    5. The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large;
    6. The goal of world community with peace, liberty and justice for all;
    7. Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part. (Bylaws and Rules)

What a wonderful statement. I already believe these and have no problem affirming and promoting them.

Published by

Jay Forrest

Jay N. Forrest is an IT professional, an ordained Humanist minister, and a Certified and Accredited Meditation Teacher.